Cochlear Implant Manufacturers 

Advanced Bionics –www.advancedbionics.com

Cochlear – www.cochlear.com

MED-EL  – www.medel.com

Oticon Medical – www.oticonmedical.co.uk

Suppliers of Hearing Accessories that can be used with Implants

Action on Hearing Loss – www.actiononhearingloss.org.uk/

Connevans – www.connevans.com

Other Sites

Cochlear Implanted Children’s Support Group – www.cicsgroup.org.uk

The CICS Group was founded by parents whose children have cochlear implants to share first-hand experience of the issues that surround life with an implanted child and to provide a vital part of the pre and post implantation process, the support for parents by parents

 

The Ear Foundation – www.earfoundation.org.uk

Action on Hearing Loss – www.actiononhearingloss.org.uk/

Adult Cochlear Implants Action Group – ​https://actiongrouponadultcochlearimplants.wordpress.com/

Advanced Bionics site for teenagers and the young at heart –
www.ci-4teenz.com

Alliance on Hearing Loss –

https://hearinglossanddeafnessalliance.wordpress.com/

American CI Alliance – www.acalliance.org

Boots hearingcare – www.bootshearingcare.com

British Cochlear Implant Group (BCIG) – www.bcig.org.uk

British Medical Journal – www.bmj.com

Deafness Research UK – www.deafnessresearch.org.uk

Disability Rights Commission. The DRC produces a useful and free email bulletin – www.drc-gb.org

Diversity Jobs –www.diversityjobs.co.uk

Diving and Sailing holidays for deafened people – www.worldwidediveandsail.com

Employment Advice for Workers who have lost their hearing – www.workingwithouthearing.com

European Association of Cochlear Implant Users (EURO-CIU)  eurociu.implantecoclear.org/

Graham Fraser Foundation  – www.grahamfraserfoundation.org.uk

Hearing Link- www.hearinglink.org

Hearing Link is the UK hearing loss organisation that makes it easy to find the right information, services and support. It is for people with any level of hearing loss and for their families too

Hearing Direct provide aids and alerting devices for the deaf and hard of hearing covering a wide range of hearing disability from mild to profound – www.HearingDirect.com

HELP- Cochhlear Implant HELP – www.cochlearimplanthelp.com

Knightsfield School :  www.knightsfield.herts.sch.uk

Mary Hare School – www.maryhareschool.org.uk

National Deaf Children’s Society – www.ndcs.org.uk and www.ndcsbuzz.org.uk

National Community Hearing Association (NCHA) – www.the-ncha.com

National Library for Health- www.library.nhs.uk 

Royal Association for Disability and Rehabilitation- www.radar.org.uk

Royal College of Speech and Language Therapists – www.rcslt.org

Specialist ENT & Audiology Library created by the NHS National Library for Health –www.library.nhs.uk/ent

Stagetext – provides captions for theatre performances – www.stagetext.org.uk

St John’s Catholic School for the Deaf –www.stjohns.org.uk

Subtitles at your Local Cinema – www.yourlocalcinema.com

UK Council on Deafness – www.deafcouncil.org.uk

 

Some useful text phone numbers

The NHS Direct phone based health advice service now offers a text phone exclusively for such users. This new number is 0845 606 4647 and should be used where appropriate, as opposed to the normal telephone number of 0845 4647.

AA Car Breakdowns Text to 07900 444999

Green Flag Car Breakdowns Text to 07855 828282